All shows

House of Cards

House of Cards is an American political drama television series developed and produced by Beau Willimon. It is an adaptation of the BBC's mini-series of the same name and is based on the novel by Michael Dobbs. The entire first season, comprising thirteen episodes, premiered on February 1, 2013, on the streaming service Netflix. A second season of thirteen episodes premiered on February 14, 2014. On February 4, 2014, ten days prior to the release of the second season, Netflix announced that the show had been renewed for a third season, which was released on February 27, 2015. House of Cards has been renewed for a fourth season, which will premiere in 2016. While Willimon has stated that plans for the show's future are decided after each season, lead actor Kevin Spacey has estimated that the series will run for a total of 12 seasons. Set in present-day Washington, D.C., House of Cards is the story of Frank Underwood (Kevin Spacey), a Democrat from South Carolina's 5th congressional district and House Majority Whip who, after being passed over for appointment as Secretary of State, initiates an elaborate plan to get himself into a position of greater power, aided by his wife, Claire Underwood (Robin Wright). The series deals primarily with themes of ruthless pragmatism, manipulation and power. For its first season, House of Cards received nine Primetime Emmy Award nominations, becoming the first original online-only web television series to receive major Emmy nominations. Among its nine nominations were Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for Kevin Spacey, Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series for Robin Wright, and Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series for David Fincher. The show also earned four Golden Globe Award nominations and Wright won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress – Television Series Drama to be the first major acting award for an online-only web television series. For its second season, the series received 13 Primetime Emmy Award nominations. This included further nominations for Outstanding Lead Actor (Kevin Spacey), Outstanding Lead Actress (Robin Wright), Outstanding Directing (Carl Franklin) and Outstanding Drama Series while also receiving nominations for Outstanding Writing (Beau Willimon), Outstanding Guest Actor (Reg E. Cathey) and Outstanding Guest Actress (Kate Mara). The second season also earned three nominations at the Golden Globes with Spacey winning the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor – Television Series Drama.

Show Details

Producer Beau Willimon
Network Netflix
Costume design Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris
Genre Drama